1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Fuel pump help needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2011, 09:29 PM
Fuel pump help needed

Hey people im , new to the forums, well this is my first time posting so here goes. I own a jdm 2006 fit and the fuel pump died, so i switched it with a new one and strange enough its giving the same problem. Do i have to get a pump with a certain psi? the new one i hooked up is working but the pressure is to low to start the car.what should i do. all help will be appreciated

Old 07-09-2011, 10:20 PM
5 Year Member
Fuel filter new?

Old 10-15-2011, 02:41 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by pcn9094
Hey people im , new to the forums, well this is my first time posting so here goes. I own a jdm 2006 fit and the fuel pump died, so i switched it with a new one and strange enough its giving the same problem. Do i have to get a pump with a certain psi? the new one i hooked up is working but the pressure is to low to start the car.what should i do. all help will be appreciated
It’s not my intention to bump this thread. I just saw you badly need some help. I recommend checking the fuel pum relay before doing anything else. There might be also a possible ecu faulty issue, which is definitely common to fits. On the other hand you can go directly to the wiring. Good luck and hope you will be able to fix your thing.

Old 10-16-2011, 06:09 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by pcn9094

When you switched to a new fuel pump was it intended for your Fit? or some generic fuel pump. Fit uses a high pressure pump because it has fuel injectors so areplacement specifically intended for your Fit model is required.
And when you replace the fuel pump you must replace the fuel filter; its easy for trash in the fuel to plug the filter which then causes the pump to appear failed or even to cause it to fail.
And yes, check the fuel pump fuse.

Last edited by mahout; 10-16-2011 at 06:12 PM.