1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

2007 sport "cheaper" factory key how-to

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2015, 03:13 PM
2007 sport "cheaper" factory key how-to

First off this is my first post and I am including some background. I am a dealer tech with 10+ years in honda. All prices are based off of majestic hondas web pricing with all OEM honda parts. Labor times are based off of established book times and what your local dealer charges will vary. This is for US market cars..

I am not affiliated with majestic they just have a good online catalog

You will NOT find any of this documented in honda literature I was exploring uncharted territory on this one.

If you do this to your car everything will work just like it was factory installed and everything will be factory OEM components. BUT, the 1 drawback is that if you do not document what is done and someone tries to add another key at a later date they will NOT be able to figure it out without help.

The whole reason for this project was that an 07 fit recently got traded in needing keys and we discovered the price of 07 sport keys is very very high for the key that contains the RKE transmitter. I was interested in owning it, but didn't want to spend $150 per key and it only had 1 worn key. So I found a way around it as a hobby project.

1) The 07 Fit is unique in the fact that it uses a immobilizer with a "H" code chip installed. This was only used a couple years and only on fit and s2000

2) The 08 Fit immoblizer system is also unique and 1 year only among Fits, but share components with odyssey and element so pricing is cheaper

3) The 08 Fit components do NOT work on a 2007 model year Fit because they added another component to the system in 2008.

So where does this leave us?