2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

necessary to shift into Park before turning engine off?

Old 07-27-2011, 05:42 PM
5 Year Member
necessary to shift into Park before turning engine off?

I'm new to AT. I'm used to turning off the engine as I coast the last few feet into the garage. But with the AT, I notice that when I turn off the engine with the AT in Drive, the car seems to lurch to a stop.

Why does that happen? Is it bad for the transmission? It is necessary to shift into Park before turning off the engine?

Old 07-27-2011, 06:10 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by buckyfit
I'm new to AT. I'm used to turning off the engine as I coast the last few feet into the garage. But with the AT, I notice that when I turn off the engine with the AT in Drive, the car seems to lurch to a stop.

Why does that happen? Is it bad for the transmission? It is necessary to shift into Park before turning off the engine?
What would happen if you turned off a manual transmission car while in low gear and the clutch engaged (foot off the clutch pedal)? At low speed I imagine this would be kind of lurchy.

I don't think it hurts the transmission but it's not kind to it.

You can't remove the key before returning to park. Power steering no longer functions. Just drive normal; leave the engine running until you're in park, then turn it off and remove the key.

Old 07-27-2011, 06:48 PM
If it's so important to you to coast the last few feet, you can switch into neutral and shut off the engine, but eventually you lose power steering and power brakes... and of course do NOT shift into park while the car's moving. That IS bad for it (and you).

Old 07-27-2011, 07:09 PM
5 Year Member

It happens because the car is in drive mode, makes total sense to me that it would lurch--you need to switch the car to park gear.