2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

new 2012 fit with 7,000 miles, transmission fluid low already?

Old 07-21-2012, 02:48 PM
new 2012 fit with 7,000 miles, transmission fluid low already?

Hey all,

This is my first time owning a new car and although the new fits have the indicator lights for when to change fluids and such I was trying to be a good car owner and checking them myself. I am just under 7,000 miles on my fit and about to need an oil change soon anyway as I'm at about 20% right now. However, in checking under the hood, everything looks good except the transmission fluid. Following the owner's manual I turned the car on and then off and waited 30 secs before checking the dipstick. It showed the fluid below the minimum hot levels indicating I should refill and go to get it inspected immediately (per the manual). However, an indicator light has not gone on yet and per the internet and car manual I don't think you should have to get your fluid filled until 60,000 miles. Does this mean something is drastically wrong and I should get it fixed immediately? Or, could I wait a couple of weeks until I get my oil changed and have them check if out then. There is a possibility I didn't let the car heat up enough but I don't think so. Also, I am going on a trip next week and don't want to compromise the car at all. Thanks!

Old 07-21-2012, 02:51 PM
5 Year Member
The Fit heats up more quickly than most cars because of the aluminum engine, but I would drive around a bit (5 mins at least?) before checking the trans fluid level. See if that helps. If your fluid is actually far below the minimum hot level, I'd take a look underneath to see where the remainder has gone. I think fluid is ... red? Is that just auto transmission fluid? You can google it; the colors are mostly standardized.

Old 07-21-2012, 02:53 PM