2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Proper tire inflation?

Old 08-22-2012, 04:52 PM
Proper tire inflation?

I am no expert on the mechanics of a car, but my 2010 Fit had the low tire pressure light come on the day after I bought it! I did what I was taught to do. I looked at the PSI recommendation on the tires and filled them all up to that number with my tire inflator. Well, it says 51 PSI on the tires, but the other day I saw a sticker on the door that says to inflate to 33 PSI. So, my tires have been at 50 PSI for 2 weeks now. Is that bad? Anyone know what my tires should be inflated to? They also had Nitrogen in them, but obviously they now have regular air also.

Old 08-22-2012, 05:35 PM
Regular air is mostly nitrogen anyway. Unless you deal with extreme conditions (by extreme, I mean indy car driving condition, landing/flying a plane, etc) N is just a ripoff.

The 50 PSI is the maximum pressure the tires can withstand before being damaged. The number on the door sill is correct (33 psi). That said, many people prefer to run slightly over (35-37 psi). 50 is way too high though. You'll lose grip because the tire swells.

As a side note, you should check tire pressure more often. The light on the dash goes on at ~25 psi, which is way too low. Monthly or so is a good idea.

Old 08-22-2012, 05:51 PM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
check your door jam on the driver side, there is a sticker that shows you what pressure to use.

on my GE Fits i use anywhere from 33-35psi cold. i use higher pressure in the fall as temps drop and so does pressure inside the tire. i like to use a tad higher pressure than recommended as the recommendation by Honda is more gear towards comfort.

1psi change per 10F ambient temperature change.

measure your tires in the morning while they are cold.

Old 08-22-2012, 06:03 PM