2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Hauling a mobility scooter on a hitch-mounted platform

Old 12-15-2012, 05:52 PM
Hauling a mobility scooter on a hitch-mounted platform

Hello everyone. First post here, and I have a question for you guys. I have the idea of getting a trailer hitch for my Fit so that I may attach a platform for a mobility scooter onto it. I have need from time to time to take my mother places, and she has a 195lb Hover Round power chair. I thought that it would be nice if I could just put it up onto the platform and be off. As I look around, it seems like all I can find for a Fit is a class 1 hitch, but almost all of the platforms i have looked at need a class 2 or 3. I am new to hitches, and don't know if there is a way to get my idea to work. Can anyone tell me/point me in the right direction, or is my idea not possible with such a small car? Are there any adapters to use in a class 1 that will fit the larger tubes of the class 2-3 hitches that a lot of these platforms need?

Old 12-15-2012, 06:31 PM
I made a custom 2" receiver hitch to haul my motorcycles and for my bike rack. To answer your question, yes, they do make adapters to go from 1 1/4" to 2". You can get one online or even from Harbor Freight. The aftermarket hitch from Curt Manufacturing appears to be the strongest of the ones available. I did not use an aftermarket hitch because of how low they hang down and I frequently drive over very steep driveways and rutted dirt roads.

Name:  receiver.png
Views: 1266
Size:  1.15 MB

Old 12-15-2012, 06:31 PM
Name:  Fit2_zps0a56c6a9.png
Views: 3260
Size:  1.15 MB

I'm not sure if the aftermarket hitch will adequately support a 200 lb mobility chair as it hangs out pretty far. Just so you know, adding a hitch may void your Honda warranty

Last edited by Dookoo; 12-15-2012 at 06:34 PM.
Old 12-15-2012, 06:47 PM
Banned
Originally Posted by carpediem930