2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Struts - Rear Shocks Replacement 2010 Fit

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2016, 10:57 AM
Thumbs up Struts - Rear Shocks Replacement 2010 Fit

I replaced the struts and rear shocks on my Honda 2010 Fit. I used KYB parts from Tire Rack. The replacement went without incident. I'm not a professional mechanic, but I grew up on a farm with tools and engines. I bought the service manual from Helm and the Haynes book and both were invaluable. Replace the stabilizer links at the same time and you won't get annoying clicking sounds when you're done! Make sure you get the special tools to remove the cowl (5 pc. No-Scratch Tools for Removing Fastener & Molding by Neiko from Amazon). Lock the strut in a bench vise on a work bench securely and tighten the spring compressor 1/2 turn on each side by hand, don't use an air impact wrench unless you like living dangerously. When removing compression, also 1/2 turn on each side. The spring will lift off the bottom retainer plate when you have enough tension on the spring. Improper tightening of the spring compressor can cause injury or death! When replacing or removing the stabilizer link, make sure both front wheels are off the ground to remove tension from the sway bar. I used an air compressor and impact wrench. Also, a Dremel cut off wheel to cut frozen bolts off the top of the strut. And breaker bars! I used a length of water pipe on the 1/2 inch ratchet. That comes from living on a farm. Now the car handles like it did when it was new. I saved about $900 over the quotes I got from the local shops. It took about 2 days. And there's a great sense of satisfaction upon completing a job of this magnitude successfully, not to mention a great handling car!

Old 04-22-2016, 11:16 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by John Dalnes