2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is offset 55 a problem?

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2017, 09:04 PM
5 Year Member
Is offset 55 a problem?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to rims and need some advice.

I've been running the stock 15" steelies with OEM tires until the beginning of this winter when the original Dunlop all seasons had worn out at 61 K km (38 K miles).
I replaced them with Blizzak WS80's as winter tires (stock size 175/65/R15).
The plan was to get alloy rims for new all season tires in the spring, so that it's easy to switch them around every winter.

In 2-3 weeks I'm expecting to make this switch - already ordered a set of Ecopia 422plus 175/65/R15 from Costco. I'm a bit of a hypermiler, so all about the fuel mileage; don't care about looks, or cornering speed. I want to put them on a pair of alloy rims I've recently picked-up used for an amazing bargain. These are old Honda rims (date stamp Oct 2000) and I only looked for radius, width and bolt pattern. Being such a noob, I didn't even know about offset. These rims are 15x6 JJ 55.

Does anyone know if the 55 offset will cause any problems with my 2nd gen Fit?
What about the JJ designation?

I've searched around the forum and all I've found so far has been quite lower with the most common being +40 and 45 offset. I've also noticed the cool kids wants even lower offsets so the wheels stick out.

Does this mean that 55 offset will keep the wheels more on the inside?

Since I'm on a budget, I want to take these rims to Costo in 2-3 weeks and have them install the new tires. They're certainly not experts and probably won't have any spacers or other accessories that might be necessary.

Is there anything I should get before I go down to Costco? Spacers? New wheel nuts?

Much appreciated,

Last edited by Andrei_ierdnA; 03-09-2017 at 09:19 PM.
Old 03-10-2017, 02:51 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Andrei_ierdnA