2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

A Different Kind Of Mod/Upgragde

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2017, 04:11 PM
A Different Kind Of Mod/Upgragde

Hey guys,

I'm about to pick up a 2013 Fit and I'm not ashamed to say it's a car I've been dreaming about for three years (so much so I'm on a bloody car forum ).

So here's the deal, I'm going to slowly be looking to make some cost effective mods with a twist. Instead of going for aesthetic or performance I'm going for functionality.

I'm a spearfisherman which means long spearguns, wet gear covered in fish guts and slime, mud and dirt from trails and whatever else you can imagine. Every single one of my friends drives a truck. I'm convinced I can show them how it's done in a FIT.

The first things I thought I'd do is get the darkest tint I could to stop people from seeing the gear I might have inside. Second thing is to get an extended hexomat (vs an elemmat) to cover the entire rear (with backseat down). My plan is that the backseat will be down 90% of the time. I'm hoping the Hexo will be flexo enough to roll up if I have to put the seat up. Lastly I'll definitely go to LED Dome and cargo light as I need it when unloading or for those 4am starts. I was thinking of maybe the Husky floor mats? Thoughts? And what other mods?

One thing that I think about is easy ways to stop shit from rolling around in the back? Tie downs? Jockey/Bungee straps etc? Any ideas?

And for all the other outdoorsy enthusiasts who may have modified their fits what are your suggestions? What worked/didn't work? What do you love? Etc.

Thanks guys

Happy as a pig in mud!

Old 03-22-2017, 05:45 PM
5 Year Member
Welcome to the forum! Fun thing about these Fits are how functional and versatile they can be. Can be slammed for that VIP airbag look, they are more than decent autocross cars, have seen people convert the bed area into a platform for a bed when they camp, and used to haul parts in.