2nd Generation GE8 Specific DIY: Repair & Maintenance Sub-Forum Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself on the 2nd generation Honda Fit (GE8)

Spark Plug Blown on Low Mileage Fit (HONDA DENIES WARRANTY)

Old 04-10-2012, 07:29 PM
Spark Plug Blown on Low Mileage Fit (HONDA DENIES WARRANTY)

I'm a newbie here, I bought my 2009 Honda Fit Sport M/T brand new. The car has 78,000km (48,500miles). All the servicing has been done at 2 Honda dealerships.

The car had no acceleration and weird noise in highway traffic. I took it to the nearest dealership (my third dealership). Turns out Cylinder 2 blew the spark plug and apparently cylinder 1, 3 and 4 were 'loose.' I asked if it was covered under the Honda Powertrain Warranty (5yrs/100,000), which it states in the manual. However, Honda Canada determined that the failures are due to 'tampering.'

I bought the car and maintain it like a baby. Get all the servicing done Honda Dealership only. I can't accept that's the reason why. I was insulted because I felt they were blaming me.

They decided to do helicoli to fix it. They said it should fix the problem. I'm weary and not sure what to do. What do you people think? What should I do?

Thanks!
Herm

Old 04-10-2012, 07:43 PM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by hermanp
I asked if it was covered under the Honda Powertrain Warranty (5yrs/100,000), which it states in the manual. However, Honda Canada determined that the failures are due to 'tampering.'
What did they claim was tampered with? Is there anyway you can contact Honda directly and escalate the issue?

From your post, it appears you never serviced the car yourself. How can they claim tampering?

Old 04-10-2012, 08:03 PM
5 Year Member
So they want you to pay for the helicoil repair?

Is there any truth to their claim of tampering? Did you really never touch the spark plugs, or did you maybe get curious and took a peek at them for fun.