2nd Generation GE8 Specific DIY: Repair & Maintenance Sub-Forum Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself on the 2nd generation Honda Fit (GE8)

Oil change maintence minder question

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 10:53 PM
Oil change maintence minder question

Hello there. I've read a lot but never posted. But now have a question.

I've had my 2009 fit sport for almost 2 years now. I bought it with less than 4000 miles on it.

When it got to over 6000 the oil life was at 30 percent so I had it changed. Probably could've waited for a while but I didn't know much then.

I am only a little over 3000 miles since last oil change and my oil life says 60 percent. BUT it has been over a year since it was last changed. And I clearly don't drive much since I've only put on 5000 miles in about two years.

So should I continue to follow the maintenance minder even though I am a light driver. Or should I get it change once a year or something. Does it take into account mileage or any of that? I am willing to trust it but I couldn't find definitive info on low mileage oil change info.

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-23-2014, 11:18 PM
5 Year Member
If memory serves me right, Honda recommends getting the oil replaced once every 6 months if you don't see the service required/maintenance minder interval when using a synthetic blend oil or once a year if using full synthetic.

Old 02-23-2014, 11:42 PM
Originally Posted by Hootie
If memory serves me right, Honda recommends getting the oil replaced once every 6 months if you don't see the service required/maintenance minder interval when using a synthetic blend oil or once a year if using full synthetic.
I think they say at least once a year regardless of the MM, though other people seem to think the time interval is less important than the MM which works on a formula that Honda doesn't disclose but people seem to guess is a combination of a number of factors including mileage.

Old 02-24-2014, 08:08 AM