2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Getting a Fit soon! What do you guys think?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2014, 09:04 AM
Getting a Fit soon! What do you guys think?

Alright guys, first off let me say that this forum has been a huge help in solidifying my want for the Fit. I think that such a passionate community behind this car really shows that it's a great buy.

So, on Thursday I'm going to be looking at a Tidewater Blue 2009 Honda Fit Sport (automatic) with 70k miles. The asking price is $10,900 and I'm planning on giving an initial offer of $9,500, with the hope of keeping it under $10,000 in the end. I'll be giving a small down payment and I should be getting around $1,000 for my trade (2001 Saturn that just needs to go, still runs though). This should keep my monthly payments below $200, which is what I'm hoping for. I'm a college student with a part time job, so I don't have a ton of flexibility on the monthly payments. What do you guys think? Is this a good deal for a 2009 Fit? Is there anything specific I should watch out for when doing the inspection or test drive? From the sounds of it, a Fit with 70k miles has tons of life left in it if it's well kept, which I plan on doing. The listing says it had one previous owner and no accidents or damage or anything like that. Oh yeah, and I'm in the mid-western United States.

The only thing that is making me pause is another Fit that is listed in my area, although it's a bit more expensive... and I think I should be considering it out of my price range as a student working part-time. That's a Revolution Orange 2011 Fit Sport (automatic) with around 30k miles, listed for $12,995. I don't think I would be able to get my monthly payments close enough to $200, but it still sounds like a good deal. This one was previously listed at $13,995 and they recently lowered it.

What do you guys think? The 2009 should be fine, right? Should I not be stressing about the 2011 option?