2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum Threads discussing engine mods/swaps/tuning for the 2nd generation GE8 Honda Fit.

spark plug ejection

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2014, 11:53 AM
5 Year Member
spark plug ejection

Hello fellow fit freaks! Has any new reports of having an issue with spark plug or plugs being ejected while driving? I have an 08 & a12 and the 12 had blown plug #3. We found the plug on the side of the highway but couldnot be reinstalled due the threads in the head being damaged. I have only wittnessed a plug ejecting like that 40 years ago on a lawmower i worked as a kid. Nothing in owners manual says to check spark plug torgue. These are long life plugs that should go 60k miles or more. They are also on the back of the engine block which is rediculous to begin with. If anyone has found loose plugs or an ejection problem let me know how this worked out.

Old 08-31-2014, 06:41 PM
5 Year Member
No it's not normal and yes the plugs should last over 100K. 3 or 4 accounts here of this happening. I don't know if that's more or less than average for cars in general, but it seems significant.

Hope yours is under warranty. Tell us how it works out.

Old 08-31-2014, 09:59 PM
5 Year Member
One fellow, in Ontario I believe, was going through this with Honda about a year ago. Honda basically told him to get lost and said the problem was caused by his "tampering" with the engine. There have been several other reports of the same thing here. I haven't heard of anyone getting any satisfaction out of Honda on the problem. Maybe you will have a better experience with them.

Last edited by n9cv; 08-31-2014 at 10:50 PM.
Old 09-01-2014, 06:38 PM
5 Year Member
A lot of V6 Accords (03-05) and some TLs have this problem.

Never heard for the Fit...

Old 09-03-2014, 12:24 AM
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Bryanfit