2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hypermiling - Shifting gears

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2012, 08:33 AM
5 Year Member
Question Hypermiling - Shifting gears

Hi all,

I was looking through my GE8 manual last night and I read a section where it was written at which speed you should shift to save fuel...I don't have the manual with me so I can't give you any numbers right now.

I've been owning cars for only 5 years, so I'm still learning. However, I was under the impression, and quite possible wrong, that the sooner you can shift, the less fuel you will consume because the RPM stays low. I usually shift when the RPM is between 2000 and 2500, thinking I'm saving fuel because I shift at low RPM. Looking at the manual, it looks like that the speed mentionned for each shift are reached at much higher RPM than 2000-2500.

So my question is...am I right or wrong to shift at low RPM ? Should I follow the manual ? Keep in mind that it is to save fuel; not for racing/fun. And shifting at low RPM, can it cause any issues on the hardware (transmission, engine...) ?

Thanks !

Neo.

Old 04-26-2012, 10:05 AM
I have always followed pretty close to what the owners manual says or i look at the speedometer and shift at 15 mph to 2nd, 25 mph to 3rd, 35 to 40 mph to 4th, and 50 into 5th. I've averaged about 34mpg's over 30,000 miles on this car. Shifting at such low rpm's actually uses more gas cause you're lugging the engine. Your Fit's engine is meant to rev a little higher. The old rule of thumb was always to shift at 3000 rpms which is pretty close to what the owners manual is telling you, maybe slightly higher. Plus the car will be much more zippy for you. Give it a try, you'll still be just fine on your mpg's.

Old 04-26-2012, 10:08 AM
And lugging (shifting to soon or driving to slow in a higher gear) your engine is actually worse for your engine than running it at slightly higher rpm's.