3rd Gen GK Specific Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Sub-Forum Threads discussing engine mods/swaps/tuning for the third generation GK Honda Fit.

HKS Silent Hi Power from Kamispeed (DO NOT BUY)

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2015, 09:56 PM
HKS Silent Hi Power from Kamispeed (DO NOT BUY)

So, I took a chance and bought the HKS Silent Hi Power from Kamispeed.com and after a three month wait it finally came in and I've been sorely disappointed.

One of the nuts that holds the muffler had a weld sticking out too far. This ended up tearing up one of the bolts that holds it on. I didn't realize what had happened at first, I thought, "that's weird" when it kept failing to catch on the bad nut side.

I switched the bolt to the other side, noticed it was hard going in, pulled it back out and noticed it was galled to hell. I'm not a mechanic, but I worked on my tools for a living for 5 years so I know what I'm doing when it comes to this stuff.

I tried the other bolt on the bad side (the side I originally tried) and that's when I noticed the weld was in the way and tore up the threads before it had a chance to catch the threads on the nut (lucky I noticed this before the threads on the other bolt got too torn up and was able to chase them back out on my stock exhaust and use it to bolt the stock exhaust back up).

I did a quick scan for leaks and all seems ok, even with only one bolt.

Long story short. DO NOT BUY.

Edit: Kamispeed refuses to refund since it was "installed". I'm going through hksusa.com to see what they can do (I'm not expecting much and have pretty much written this one off). The fortunate thing is that I actually make decent money so 350 bucks isn't as a big of hit to me as it for say, some college kid who likes tinkering with cars. Just be warned about this product, this is the link to exactly what I ordered