3rd Generation GK Specific Suspension & Brakes Sub-Forum Threads discussing suspension and brake related modifications for the 3rd generation Honda Fit (GK)

Winter Tires

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2014, 12:38 PM
Winter Tires

Hello,

I recently acquired a 2015 Honda Fit EX [CANADA] and I will have my first experience driving in winter. After doing some searching, I decided on the Bridgestone-Blizzak WS80 from Costco but my concern is that they only offer the tire for the LX model. This is my first time doing anything with winter and tires so I'm new to the whole experience. Will I be able to buy these tires or will I have to go for the exact specifications of the EX tires? Here is the link for the tires. Costco.ca: Shop for Tires

Thanks

Old 11-16-2014, 07:57 PM
5 Year Member
First off, a tire isn't designed for a specific model car, it is design for a certain sized rim. The EX rim is 16" and the LX rims are 15". Since the different trim levels of the Fit are basically the same car aside from a few minor differences, you could use LX wheels on an EX and vice versa.

Since you plan on running winters, you must decide whether you will use the same rims for winter and for summer use. This would envolve taking the tires off the rims every time you change seasons. I would personally advise against that; you'd have to rebalance the wheels every time you change the tyres and I think it's potentially bad for the tyres.

What most canucks do is that they buy steel rims (steelies). The base model fit is basically that: steel wheels with hub caps rather than the nice mags the EX gets. So I recommend you buy a set of steel rims (you can get them at Costco for about 50$ a wheel) and have some winters permanently mounted on these so when winter comes along, you simply have to swap wheels and only need to get them balanced the first time you get them put on.