Newbie here......hello everyone

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2010, 04:40 PM
5 Year Member
Smile Newbie here......hello everyone

Hi. Newbie here, from the UK.
I finally succumbed to the scrappage scheme and decided to upgrade my car.

My previous 2 cars were Honda Civics, so I actually went to look for a 1.6 3yo replacement but the UK Honda deals at the moment were too enticing (5yr servicing for £550, 2grand for my existing car (probably only worth £100 tops), 0% finance for 2 years etc etc).

I would be going from this:

To this:

Front spots/fogs were the optional extra on my ES. They installed it brilliantly too, changing the indicator stalk to new ones rather than giving me a separate switch for them somewhere.

I'm glad I went for Storm Grey as it looks nice on this imo

I'm amazed that Honda managed to include VSA as standard . Audio controls on the steering wheel for ES are handy & I also like the orange-red glow of the dash

I don't think I'll change the HU as I like the standard look (although not too sure about the sound as of yet). I also like the fact that we have recirc/fresh air change as a button rather than a cheap slider (I hate sliders 'cos I always manage to break 'em )

Initially I decided not to do any audio upgrades (I keep changing my mind about this). Well, at any rate I may not change the HU, but I have yesterday started considering upgrading the front speakers alone (undecided between components for ~£100ish or coaxials for the same - coaxes need less "work" as they're a straight swap. I might have trouble figuring out where to put the tweeters or crossover if I go component although on the front "ledge" part at the top of the upholstery looks a good bet - red circled area):

The only other thing I've changed so far is the tax disc holder to a black "twist off" richbrook one
Overall I'm v happy and now just have to remember to drive extra carefully for the first 600-1000miles or so .