Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

Complete newbie to washing cars, lots of Q's!

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2009, 09:35 PM
Complete newbie to washing cars, lots of Q's!

Hi, I just got a Fit (Blue Sensation!) about two weeks ago and it's my first new car. Obviously, I'm very excited .

I want to start hand-washing my car and keep this one really nice. I know there's stickies with questions and such, but it's hard to find information as it's unorganized.

Anyways, I have a lot of questions and want to make sure I do it right.

1. What are the best car shampoos? Waxes? Polishes? Claybars? Best lubricant for the clay bar? I've heard a lot about Meguiar's products and people say they're pretty good. I'm looking at those and probably will buy some soon. Are they readily available at Target/Walmart?

2. Best cloths? I know people love microfiber, so that's probably what I'll go with. What brand though?

3. What are all the materials I need? From browsing this forum, I know the basic procedure to washing the car. I'll do the two bucket method, but what do I need? One cloth/wash mitt to wash and one to dry? Do I need special cloths to apply wax or polish?

4. Order of operations. When washing, do I wash wheels first or the car? Then do I clay, polish, wax? Or some other order?

5. Scratches. I noticed many swirls straight from the dealer. Will the basic wax and polish help take these out?

6. Time of day. I know you shouldn't wash the car in direct sunlight or when the paint is hot. However, the full wash, wax, polish, etc. will take a long time, right? Is it okay to wax and polish and whatnot if the sun is out?

7. How often should you wash your car? About once a week? How often should you wax or polish it? About how long does just a basic wash take, around an hour?