Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

question on rotors

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2011, 04:58 PM
5 Year Member
question on rotors

Thumbnail to a bigger version, which can then be clicked on to get an even larger version.

What do some of you guys think I should do? Get it resurfaced or replaced? Or suck it up and hope it wears away?

I'm a bit uneasy with the way my rotor looks. I'm not certain what it's from. Could be from my harder than normal and downhill braking (and stopping) on my road trip. Could be excess rusting from sitting for 2 days in NY while it rained (though I was pretty sure it never did this before).

My pads also seem kinda strange to me... I know I'm a spirited driver, and while I do try to brake lightly at times, I have a tendency to brake harder too. I thought it would be more worn down by now, nearly 33k miles. Could they be glazed over? Which would be strange too, since it seems to brake just as quickly as it always has.

On a side note, I think I need to add a rubber washer or something to the "center cap" I'm using to keep it dry, that's too much rust for my liking.

Old 08-31-2011, 06:20 PM
Check/measure to make sure that the rotors are within the operating specs and if so have them resurfaced. If anything it's good piece of mind.

I wouldn't worry too much about the rust.

Edit: You have a lot of pad left but i'm not suprised. The Fit's a light car and you have an MT, if you drive anything like I do I barely use my brakes lol. I've got 16k and a ton of pad left, pretty sure i'll upgrade out of boredom before I have to replace pads.

Last edited by Wanderer.; 08-31-2011 at 06:24 PM.
Old 08-31-2011, 08:03 PM
5 Year Member