Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

Misfire Problem SOLVED

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2013, 12:08 AM
Thumbs up Misfire Problem SOLVED

I was one of the first Fit purchasers in the US. Purchased an '07 Sport Fit in September '06. I'm a 5-speed driver, so misfires are a REAL drag when banging through the gears.

The misfire started at about 80K miles. The car now has 125K miles. To say I'm sick of this problem is the understatement of the decade. I took it to two Honda dealerships a total of five times. I even took this issue up with American Honda Motor Company. Seems no one at Honda has any clue how to fix this problem when no error code is thrown.

Here's the deal, the first generation Fits are prone to this problem. The coil packs fail at around 75K miles. This is well documented in many Internet forums. When your first gen Fit develops the misfire - and it will - don't fiddle around. Replace all four coil packs. And DO NOT buy then from your Honda dealer. You'll get reamed on the price. Order four (4) Denso OEM coil pack units from partsgeekDOTcom. They're $65 each there.

I replaced all four coil packs today. And just for fun, I test drove it after each unit was replaced. Each replaced unit produced slight improvement. But apparently the #4 cylinder coil pack was the weakest one of the bunch, because when that one was replaced the misfires went away entirely. Even my 15 year old son who isn't a car nut like his dad was able to feel the increased power and smoothness during his evening driving lesson tonight. He also noticed that the K&N Typhoon intake system is quite a bit noisier when the engine is revving with no hesitation.

Got a misfire in your first gen Fit? Replace the coil packs and thank this forum when you do.

Old 05-19-2015, 11:55 AM
5 Year Member