Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

07 Fit Misfire Advice _not_ coils. IAT or MAP sensor

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2015, 08:00 PM
07 Fit Misfire Advice _not_ coils. IAT or MAP sensor

Hey all,

New member here of low skill level so apologies if this has been covered somewhere else. I know Honda idle issues get brought up a lot here but my misfiring actually occurs worse when accelerating

I have a 2007 base model Honda Fit (automatic) and I'm trying to determine the source of my engine misfire issues. As I mentioned it does in idle but particularly when accelerating at higher expressway speeds. The CEL comes on periodically and the problem comes and goes but seems to intensify/cue the CEL when it's warm out (I'm up in Toronto) or when I've been driving for longer periods. This seems to indicate to me the problem is connected to the engine heating up and thus it may be the IAT not functioning properly. But I'm no expert so that's just my guess from the research I've done.

After a code reading all four cylinder misfire codes (P0301-04) come up as well as the random misfire code (P0300).

It also spit out a high pressure on the IAT (P0113)

and one for the MAP sensor (P0108)

I've checked the EGR valve (as I've seen many say that's rarely the issue and of course it wasn't clogged), I can't get at the passages myself because of the angle, I changed all four spark plugs with new NGK iridium and tested the coil packs. All four give good readings (exactly 1.8 across the board from the ohm meter), which seems to me to indicate that it is indeed MAP or the IAT that is the source of all the other problems/misfire codes.

I'm looking for advice on whether the MAP or the IAT would be the original source of the issue. It's of course possible both are faulty but I just wanted to hear some thoughts so I don't buy a replacement for the wrong one and end up having wasted the money.