Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

Greddy E-Manage Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2008, 06:57 PM
Greddy E-Manage Tuning

Well, I got a couple of PM's about tuning and voltage clamps, so I thought I'd write up everything I know about tuning the Greddy E-manage.

I'm far from an expert on this, so if anyone has anything to add please feel free!

Disclaimer: I take no responsibility for any damage done to your car by improper tuning. This is a guide based on my experience, nothing more.

Start from the beginning:

So, you've got your T1R turbo kit (or any other kit for that matter), and you're using the Greddy E-manage Ultimate for management. What do you do?

Well, if you bought a kit, your E-manage probably came with a base map for your setup. This map might work alright, or it might run like poop. It's really hard to tell unless you have the right tools, and this is not the type of thing you want to be in the dark with.

To start with, you'll need the right tools:
  • A laptop with a USB 2.0 A-B cable
  • The Greddy E-manage support tool (should have come with your EMU)
  • A wideband O2 gauge like the AEM UEGO Wideband

You could theoretically do this without a wideband, but it's REALLY not a good idea. You can't get nearly the accuracy you need to tune.

So, you're sitting in the car with your wideband in front of you and your laptop on your passenger seat. It's time to

Start Tuning:

The first thing to do is to start up your laptop (must be windows-based) with the support tool and EMU drivers installed (on the CD that came with your EMU). Once you connect your USB cable, turn your ignition ON, but do not start the engine.

Your support tool should show ONLINE in the bottom right of the window, and you should get a confirmation box that asks if you want to import data from the E-Manage.

Click YES.