Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning Reference Library for Engine Modifications, Swaps and Tuning

How to properly take care of a turbo'd car?

Old 08-04-2008, 08:47 PM
How to properly take care of a turbo'd car?

Hey everyone... I'm gonna be installing my turbo kit this coming weekend and I have a few questions for those who own or have owned an aftermarket turbocharged vehicle.

My questions are:
  • How long to let car warm up before driving off
  • Recommended time setting for turbo timer
  • If its -30 degrees out (celsius), is it safe to drive
  • Oil change intervals
  • Proper maintenance
  • Grade and brand of synthetic oil to use
I have figured out a few things, but I'm new to turbo'd cars so I'd like to be prepared and not do something I shouldn't that can shorten the life of the turbo or my engine.

Old 08-04-2008, 08:59 PM
Originally Posted by YeeFit
Hey everyone... I'm gonna be installing my turbo kit this coming weekend and I have a few questions for those who own or have owned an aftermarket turbocharged vehicle.

My questions are:
  • Oil change intervals
  • Proper maintenance
I have figured out a few things, but I'm new to turbo'd cars so I'd like to be prepared and not do something I shouldn't that can shorten the life of the turbo or my engine.

How long to let car warm up before driving off
you can drive off right away unless it is -20 outside just stay out of boost and take it easy until the temp gauge light goes off.

Recommended time setting for turbo timer
I`d say about 2 mins is fine. It is probably overkill for most situations but if you beat the piss out of the car and then stop somewhere really soon after 2 mins is what you need to cool everything off

If its -30 degrees out (celsius), is it safe to drive
Let the car warm up for about 5-7 mins and then drive off normally.

Oil change intervals
I`d say do them every 3000-4000kms so the oil is always fresh.

Proper maintenance