Fit Interior Modifications Discussion area for interior modifications including seats, steering wheels, upholstery and gauges

Parts for custom MT shift knob on 2015 Fit

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2014, 01:28 PM
Parts for custom MT shift knob on 2015 Fit

Hello,

I just got a 2015 Fit LX White.

I want to make a custom shift knob out of a large plastic icosahedron (20 sided perfect Euclidean solid for the geometer crowd, or 55mm d20 for the gaming crowd)

I ordered up a 12.5mm to 10mm x 1.5 thread reducer to attach the new knob with. I plan to drill a hole in the knob and epoxy the reducer in place. The 2015 has a leather/vinyl shift boot. Will I need a part to keep the shift boot from dropping away when I put on the new knob?

I have never done this sort of thing before, but I am assuming it is not rocket science.

I'll post some pictures when I am done.

Thanks for any input,
AZ

Old 07-25-2014, 02:01 PM
I just wrap several layers of electrical tape around the shifter rod and put a zip tie around the tape to support the ring where I want to boot to sit so it doesn't fall down.

Sounds janky but you can't see it and it's never fallen apart on me, so good enough.

Old 07-27-2014, 05:25 PM
5 Year Member
ok so I too have been meaning to do my own shift knob (sitting deep in the project list). I honestly never knew the proper terminology for the threaded collar sleeve. I'd be curious to know where you ordered that from.

Its not rocket science and you have a consistent shape so I don't think you have too much to worry about final alignement. If I was you, I'd chop up a 4x4 (or similar cheap block of wood), and practice drilling a few holes to get a feel for how deep you need to drill and rough fitment. You'll really want a drill press for your D&D dice . The trickiest part will be securing it so you can drill without damaging it or it torquing around.

Old 08-09-2014, 10:54 AM