FIT 2015 Battery level

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2017, 12:37 AM
FIT 2015 Battery level

Hi all

im pretty new to car stuff so hope you guys can bare with me.

im working on installing a dashcam for my car which has a parking mode feature which will auto record incidents such as someone vandalising the car.

This will mean i will need to hardwire the cam to the always on fuse port . But also i will need to install a battery discharge prevention which will cut off the supply to the cam once the battery voltage reading drops below the set threshold.

i need help from you guys to advice me if at 11.6v, will the car be able to turn on as the cheap battery discharge prevention device thresholds are set at 11.6v. ive read somewhere that usually at 11.6v, car battery's are deemed dead.

attached is the link the the device that im thinking of getting

12V TO 5V CAR DVR Exclusive Power BOX Battery Discharge Prevention DC Power Wire | eBay

thanks guys and sorry for the lengthy post!

Old 02-16-2017, 08:39 AM
5 Year Member
Haikal ,

Since the camera is on all the time it will drain battery. A few hours makes no difference but weeks at a time might discharge battery. The unit you found will work if the camera runs on 5 VDC and uses that small USB connector for power. I have my camera set to turn on when I crank up and turn off when I stop. If your worried about the battery you can always hook up a battery tender directly to battery to keep it topped off. If it is parked in a parking lot or where there is no access to a power plug that option would not work.

Hope that helps

James

Old 02-16-2017, 10:15 AM
Originally Posted by James Butler
Haikal ,