General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.
View Poll Results: Do you 'Top Off' your gas tank?
No - when the pump clicks I stop.
44.44%
Yes - just a little bit, though.
38.89%
Yes - until the gas reaches the top of the filler tube.
16.67%
Voters: 72. You may not vote on this poll

Filling up the Fit To the top or not??

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2007, 10:49 AM
5 Year Member
Filling up the Fit To the top or not??

I tend to fill my cars until the fuel is at the very top of the filler tube. I feel that I get a more accurate fuel mileage reading if I do it this way.

My reasoning for this is:

I am far from an expert on gasoline, but I will include a link to an article on “How stuff works” that (I think) tells you more than you ever wanted to know about gasoline. So the following explaination is in my own words.

Every time a person fills up their car, the fuel will have a different vapor property, in other words, its’ tendency to turn to vapor and shut-off on the nozzle. This willingness to vaporize is dependent on the formulation of the gas, temperature, region of the US, octane content, etc..

Anyway, when I fill the car all the way to the top of the filler tube, I am at least assuring myself that the “fill point” of my tank is at the same place on each fill up and so I can calculate my mileage based on what I believe to be an accurate calculation of fuel used.

I also start the fuel in at the lowest auto setting on the nozzle to allow the fuel “gases” to escape and not “bubble” the fuel too much.

I feel that I would get wildly varying mileage readings if I stopped putting in fuel when the pump shut off. There is a person on this board who is complaining about only getting 150 to 200 miles per tank of gas with their Fit. I’m wondering if they are sticking in the nozzle, turning it on full blast, then stopping when the pump turns off the first time.

If the fuel is very vaporous then they may only be getting 3 or 4 gallons in the car at a time!