General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Newbie here, first Fit

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2008, 11:40 PM
Newbie here, first Fit

I had been waiting to buy a Fit for my wife since they first were imported. At first, all I could find was the sport, and I don't see the sense to spoilers & paddle shifters on a car with a 1.5 liter engine. Then gas went up to $4, and dealers ran out of them, charged way over sticker. I looked at used Fits and the owners were asking as much as new one would cost.
I guess I lucked out with a perfect storm, I found a dealer with 34 fresh Fits on the lot, the banks clamped down on credit ( i was turned down for private car loans, I have a 713 FICO), gas is down to $1.45, and consumers have locked down on spending. I walked into the dealer holding all the cards. December is typically the worst month for car sales, and that's when the best deals are made. I managed to get a good discount and drive the car home that night.
I am quite impressed with that little 1.5 liter, I expected it to be a slug, but obviously the engineers at Honda have figured out that you can make up for the small engine by adding more speeds to your automatic transmission. I'm especially impressed with interior room, as I am a 6'3" fat guy, and I can wear a hat while I drive.
Anyway, I'm glad to own it, happy to join this forum, and I hope it can help me with do-it-yourself fixes in the years to come, if these things ever break down.

Last edited by diskullman; 12-12-2008 at 11:42 PM.
Old 12-13-2008, 12:51 AM
congrats on the new fit have fun with it and welcome to the community...

Old 12-13-2008, 12:59 AM
5 Year Member
you didn't even tell us what color your Fit is.

Old 12-13-2008, 03:47 PM
Someone that spends HER life on FitFreak.net
5 Year Member
Welcome! Isn't it nice to hold all the cards at a delearship??? I don't know if I've ever been in that position, but I'd sure like to experience it.