General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

13' Base AT - First Tank only 20MPG, problem or no?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2012, 04:08 AM
5 Year Member
Question 13' Base AT - First Tank only 20MPG, problem or no?

I got a 13' Base A/T Fit, my first tank barely ran on 20mpg, 100% city driving.

Now I'm on my second tank, 30% highway, 70% city. Barely getting 24mpg. Should I worry or should I just wait for the car to break it itself? This is my first car so I don't have any prior experience with cars. I'm also a new driver as well.

P.S. went on the freeway today and hit 85mph, then acceleration seems to slow down or stopped. Don't know if it has to do with anything, I didn't floor the gas pedal after 85mph because safety. But yeah, just something to mention.

*Edit: For those of you calling me stupid for going 85mph. It was an empty freeway at 12 AM, I did it with extreme caution, made sure there is no car in front of behind me in several hundred feet. Just wanted to see what my top speed is, curiosity kicked in.
Also, it's a one time thing. It has minimal impact on my mpg as I almost drive city all the time, if not, it raised my mpg just by going on freeway actually.

*UPDATE*
So many of you suggested that it was my driving style, and yes, you guys were correct. This car is my first car, so when I started driving I was a little hot-headed, wanted to try new things. I drove it like how I would drive an Accord V6, but as you can imagine, the Fit is not as powerful as the Accord so I definitely accelerated too aggressively. After almost 4 months of driving about 2,500 miles (not a lot I know, I only commute to my community college and occasionally go out with friends), I have learned how to drive the Fit more efficiently and what to expect from the Fit. My MPG has improved and gone back to the sticker MPG. Thank you for all the tips and advise, and I also apologize for any immature statement/response I've made in this thread.