3rd Generation GK Specific DIY: Repair & Maintenance Sub-Forum Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself on the 3rd generation Honda Fit (GK)

2015 Fit: Fuel feed problem?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2015, 04:55 PM
2015 Fit: Fuel feed problem?

Hi! Just wanted to share my recent experience and see if anyone has any thoughts. On June 1, I got into my 2015 Fit (5700 miles) and it started normally. After driving about 7 blocks, it slowed to 5-10 miles an hour, and the engine started revving about once a second, as if I was pushing up and down on the accelerator. The engine light came on, blinking, and then the steering and brake trouble lights came on. I putted along a few blocks to my destination and parked. When I tried the car a couple hours later, it started right up but the same symptoms persisted. I had it towed to the dealer.

I'm not a mechanic, but I've had cars over the years and learned a bit, and it seemed to me that the symptoms I had suggested trouble in the fuel system somewhere, like bad gas or a problem in the fuel feed control system.

The next morning the dealer called me and said that the battery was a bit low so "maybe" that caused the problem and they were going to charge it. This diagnosis surprised me, so I checked the Internet (finding this site). While I discovered that Fits can have a weak electrical system, the typical symptom is just what you'd expect--trouble starting.