Other Car Related Discussions Discuss all other cars here.

Horrible smoky/acrid smell in cabin

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2008, 08:55 AM
Horrible smoky/acrid smell in cabin

Hey, I'm a newbie here. Seems like a great site. My questions concerns a horrible smoky/acrid smell that started a few months ago in my wife's '08 Sport with only 3,500 miles on the ody. It makes me sick. If I open the windows, or use the AC it goes away, but as soon as the car sits for a few hours the smell is back with a vengeance. This is not the usual AC moldy odor, or sweet heater core odor. Have scheduled an appointment for Monday at my Honda dealer, but I expect the usual, "Cannot duplicate problem" on the work order. I was wondering if any other member has had this problem and can pinpoint the source so I can give the service writer a heads up.

Old 08-16-2008, 10:59 AM
Someone that spends HER life on FitFreak.net
5 Year Member
Originally Posted by Rexorg
Hey, I'm a newbie here. Seems like a great site. My questions concerns a horrible smoky/acrid smell that started a few months ago in my wife's '08 Sport with only 3,500 miles on the ody. It makes me sick. If I open the windows, or use the AC it goes away, but as soon as the car sits for a few hours the smell is back with a vengeance. This is not the usual AC moldy odor, or sweet heater core odor. Have scheduled an appointment for Monday at my Honda dealer, but I expect the usual, "Cannot duplicate problem" on the work order. I was wondering if any other member has had this problem and can pinpoint the source so I can give the service writer a heads up.