1st Generation (GD 01-08) The one that started it all! Generation specific talk and questions here!

Replacing my front hub and wheel bearings

Old 08-29-2016, 09:33 AM
Replacing my front hub and wheel bearings

We bought my wifes honda Fit about one year ago with 178k and now has 185k miles and probably the previous owners did very little to non maintenance on this car, so during this past year I've been trying to replace the most needed parts:
-front struts and mountings
-front sway bar endlinks
-alternator
-spark plugs and coils
-oil pressure transmision sensor
-new battery
-clean the intake passages
-etc, etc
... And thank god I'm a little mechanicly inclined/weekend warrior, otherwise paying a shop to do this would had cost alot of money.

So now I'm about to tackle the hub and wheel bearings and this is my first time doing this job, I've watched alot of videos and read some stuff on the internet, but I couldn't find a lot about this specific car... Is there a step by step procedure tread about this?... I bought the only front hub and wheel bearing assembly from rockauto that they have, what special tools do I need to rent?

I've seen videos that require very little to replace the whole assembly, but I also seen people that had a really hard time replacing it, any tips would be really much appreciated... Thanks

Old 08-29-2016, 01:56 PM
5 Year Member
On 07 you need to change the bearing by pressing it out of the steering knuckle.
to do this you need at least 20 ton hydraulic press and heavy duty bearing 1.5 to 2" range bearing splitter (to remove inner half race that typically sticks to the hub)

If any part of the bearing is rusted to the hub or knuckle the replacement will become a huge exercise. Most aftermarket bearings are reported to fail within 2 years; genuine bearing is expensive.