2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Rear Hatch Mechanism Stuck

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2017, 03:54 PM
Rear Hatch Mechanism Stuck

As a newbie, I have searched for some reference to freeing up the rear hatch latch mechanism on my 2011 Base Fit. The latch sticks in the "open" position, but is not activating the release. When using the remote, it sounds like the lock is working, but the outside handle release is not in the correct position. For a while I was able to slide the key between the "open" position latch and body and push it into "closed" position, lock and unlock with remote, and it would work. Winter in upstate NY seems to have ended that. I can't figure out where to lubricate it, and my mechanic keeps ignoring my requests.
From a you-tube video, I saw the mechanism from inside the hatch, but his concern was more about the remote working, not the physical latch unlocking the lock. He indicated that this was a common problem.
I've seen many posts about the remote, but I clearly haven't worded my search properly. I'm going to climb in and see if I can lubricate anything from the access port, but if there are suggestions, please share.

Old 04-11-2017, 12:23 PM
5 Year Member
You'll need to spray some WD-40 into both sides of the handle and on the steel pin it's attached to . Lift the door and shine a flashlight in the areas above and spray lubricant . Will need paper towels / cloth and wet towel / paper towels to clean up excess lubricant at time of lubing and after . When cleaning up excess with paper / cloth towels that are dry / wet do lightly so not to scratch paint . Work handle in and out . 2 > 3 times will likely be needed and periodically . Good Luck

Last edited by Odie; 04-11-2017 at 03:11 PM.
Old 08-13-2017, 10:44 AM
5 Year Member