2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

MPG mystery

Old 01-11-2018, 09:44 PM
MPG mystery

Hey all,

Been a lurker for a while trying to look for information to solve my issue, which is this:

About a year ago, very suddenly, my '09 Fit's MPG dropped precipitously, like 20-30 percent. I went from averaging 29-32 MPG on a normal tank (live in L.A. and commute in moderate traffic, mostly on surface streets) to 22-25. So whereas I used to get 280-300 on a tank, now I'm lucky to clear 250.

Since then I have perused various gas mileage tips threads here but nothing has managed to get my MPG back up. Here is a summary of every to my mind relevant piece of info:

Car is an '09 with just over 70K. Issue started when odo was around 60K

I am an extremely MPG-conscious driver. I coast at every opportunity, accelerate slowly, try to navigate every traffic jam without touching my brakes, etc. If anything I've become even more so since the drop happened.

The issue seems to resolve itself almost completely when I stick to freeway driving. I recently averaged around 40 MPG on a round trip from LA to Bakersfield, up and over the Grapevine. This is purely a city problem. I feel like this may be a key insight.

Have not noticed anything performance-wise. No odd noises.

Car is well-maintained. All 4 tires are less that 2 years old, and pressure is checked often (I keep one of those little pumps in the car). Air filter and oil changed regularly. Just did the spark plugs. No issues with emissions. It's been almost 10 years and I've never even seen a warning light other than tire pressure.

I have tried several different gas and oil additives. None made a difference.

Hot and "cold" (it's L.A. after all) weather don't seem to move the (literal) needle much either way.

Have run several different brands of gasoline, regular to premium. Better gas does seem to improve things somewhat but usually I fill up at (ducks) Arco.