Unofficial Honda FIT Forums

Unofficial Honda FIT Forums (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/)
-   3rd Generation (2015+) (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/3rd-generation-2015/)
-   -   6th Gear? (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/3rd-generation-2015/99299-6th-gear.html)

Sinsinbad 10-31-2018 02:14 PM

6th Gear?

Newbie here. Just got my 2018 Fit Ex (Orange Fury), manual yesterday at what I think is a great price--$17,383 out the door. I have been looking and emailing dealers for a couple of months, and nobody really wanted to deal. The price I paid was $2,000 less than the best quoted.

Anyway, I am used to manual 5 speeds, but not 6 speeds. I know that 6th is like an overdrive, but I wondered if and how people used it in city driving? What little I have driven it, I usually shift to 6th after 40 mph. There still seems to be some power in 6th.

Comments/suggestions?

evilchargerfan 11-01-2018 11:48 AM

our 6th gear is somewhat of an anomaly, over time you'll notice that while cruising at highway speeds .... rpm's are way too high for its own good

with my prev cars, Id shift to 3rd at 30 mph, 4th at 40 mph, 5th at 50 mph, and so on. I've discovered that with our 2015+ fits, we dont have to follow that by any means, and with some scenarios (like a smooth flat road) shifting early is fine. you'll notice on your oem gauge cluster, it lights up GREEN when youre driving with good mpg's and it goes to BLUE when you're doing not so good with mpg's .... follow that thing

(seems like your onthe right track, cause I too usually shift early, and into 6th gear around 40-50 mph)

nice 1st post btw, WELCOME! hope ya stick around!

Fuelish 11-01-2018 05:26 PM