Unofficial Honda FIT Forums

Unofficial Honda FIT Forums (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/)
-   Fit Suspension & Brake Modifications (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/fit-suspension-brake-modifications/)
-   -   Low brake fluid level. (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/fit-suspension-brake-modifications/76731-low-brake-fluid-level.html)

sh00k 02-21-2013 04:45 AM

Low brake fluid level.

I'm worried about how low my brake fluid level is. I've changed my pads & rotors up front but didn't change my rear drums. I haven't seen any leaks so far. So I was wondering if me not changing my rear drums is causing my fluid level to be low. Also could it be that I need to bleed them? My brake pedal seems soft, I have to push it really down to get the car to stop, more than usual. Idk what's the cause, I'm new to brakes. Help me out please. I don't know if I should just buy new shoes and spring retainers or just bleed my brakes and put new fluid in or both? Idk what y'all opinions are?

spreadhead 02-21-2013 05:30 AM

Unlike discs drum brakes don't "use" fluid as they wear. Not relining the rear brakes won't cause low fluid. Try refilling and bleeding.

MNfit 02-21-2013 07:59 AM

Originally Posted by spreadhead (Post 1164308)
Unlike discs drum brakes don't "use" fluid as they wear. Not relining the rear brakes won't cause low fluid. Try refilling and bleeding.

I have never heard of that. As far as I know the only way you would ever be low on brake fluid is if there was a leak. Just changing pads and rotors should not at all effect the brake fluid

DrewE 02-21-2013 09:22 AM

Originally Posted by MNfit (Post 1164311)
I have never heard of that. As far as I know the only way you would ever be low on brake fluid is if there was a leak. Just changing pads and rotors should not at all effect the brake fluid