Unofficial Honda FIT Forums

Unofficial Honda FIT Forums (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/)
-   Fit Wheels & Tires (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/fit-wheels-tires/)
-   -   Rota Haters Read This (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/fit-wheels-tires/59072-rota-haters-read.html)

JaStonE 09-13-2010 08:34 PM

Rota Haters Read This

Im a mechanical engineering student at Oakland University and for my final project our topic was real vs knockoffs. My partner and I decided to test the strength and quality of Advan RGII and Rota Boosts which are its knockoffs and what i currently ave installed on my GE. Both rims were 16x7 4x100 with a 40 offset. So they were identical. The weight difference is only 17 grams per wheel with the advans being the lighter of the two, which by our testing only requires 16 more joules of energy to start rotation for the rotas, which is almost nothing. We also tested the tensile strength of the metal used in each rim. The rotas were actually STRONGER than the advans. They could handle 7 more ponds of pressure per square inch, which isnt much but for all the hate rotas get it made me happy. Unfortunately i cannot post the findings since our science department does not allow publishing of student findings. But i guess what im trying to say is rotas arent bad wheels at all. So all you people who have the money to blow, more power to you, but us poor student dont get that bad of a deal buying knockoffs.

doctordoom 09-13-2010 08:54 PM

this is interesting, but why can't you show us your data? if i'm not mistaken, there's a big difference between publishing your findings and sharing your findings. i mean, you're already telling us what you found, just without any evidence. this does mean you destroyed one or more of your wheels and advan wheels in order to test the strength right?

kelsodeez 09-13-2010 08:55 PM

^what he said.

kelsodeez 09-13-2010 08:59 PM