General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Best Driving Practices To Increase Your Fit’s MPG

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2007, 03:23 AM
5 Year Member
Best Driving Practices To Increase Your Fit’s MPG

I’ve done some research and based on my personal driving experiences, I’ve summarized the best practices in increasing your MPG of your Fit. I'm not an expert but an experienced daily driver of 500+ miles on a weekly basis. Cars that I've driven from my personal research are 98' BMW 540i, 04' Dodge Durango and 08' Honda Fit. As you can see I've driven various test vehicles from one extreme to another to properly experience different MPG. All vehicles driven from "Sunday School" driving to "High Spirited" driving. Additional common practices are welcome. Please feel free to post!

Driving style (Best driving technique)
Modify engine performance/maintenance (CAI, Tune-ups, etc)
Fuel type (Used of top tier gas/higher octane)

Driving Style
Impact of driving at various speeds and breaking
- Driving an average consistent speed of 55 – 65 MPH in FWY/HWY provides the most adequate MPG
- Driving average consistent speed of 25-35 MPH in City provides an efficient MPG
- Frequent and extensive breaking lessens MPG
- Coasting and letting off gas/throttle when not needed
- Driving in the proper gear keeps the RPMs down to reduce excessive fuel consumption (too low in gears can dramatically reduce MPG also)

Effects of unnecessary loads on the engine
- The more load the more the car weighs, the harder the engine runs
- Offset the car’s weight by properly inflating the tires and properly distribute the balance accordingly

Comparing cruise control to manual control
- Use of cruise control on flat straight roadways provides the most MPG than hilly terrain

Use of AC or Defrost
- City driving while AC is on lowers MPG—recommend window down instead
- Some defrost system shares the same blower of the AC system—use high heat instead to defrost windows