Unofficial Honda FIT Forums

Unofficial Honda FIT Forums (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/)
-   General Fit Talk (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/general-fit-talk/)
-   -   Fuel Type Questions (Novice Here) (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/general-fit-talk/44117-fuel-type-questions-novice-here.html)

Tranas 06-18-2009 12:11 AM

Fuel Type Questions (Novice Here)

I've always wondered the facts from the fiction when it comes to the three (or more) types of gas you get to choose from at the gas station.

I was wondering if it's smart to use the highest "premium" version on the fit, to keep it in a better condition? Considering we only have a 9 gallon gas tank with great MPG - a few extra cents a gallon should be no big deal.

But I'm curious if it's actually even worth it?
Can anyone shed some light on the difference between the types of gasoline? Is it just an elaborate scheme to waste accumulative cents for a false reason on the unknowing?

Thanks.

gladel 06-18-2009 11:43 AM

Higher octane rating is specifically for engines that requires it for that thing they call "engine knocking" or detonation. As for the Honda Fit, it says in the manual to use fuel with octane rating of 87. Hence, to save money and unnecessary fuel particles, go for the regular (octane rating 87). Lastly, higher octane rating does not also make your engine cleaner -- they are all the same.

HellMaX 06-18-2009 01:58 PM

^^^ what he said, don't waste money on higher octane gaz, get the good ol' regular ;)

Texas Coyote 06-18-2009 02:36 PM