General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Battery needs charging: Remedial measures?

Old 04-28-2017, 07:14 PM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
tommy- im no expert with batteries but from my many batteries ive dealt with including mine and many of my buddies and their gf's cars, once acid batteries are discharged to a certain point it cant seem to charge to full any longer. if a battery drains to near zero, den the best ure going to get a charge is like 85%. den u drain it again, it goes down to like 70% and so and until ti doesnt charge well any more.

but if u take care of it, ive had factory batteries last over 12yrs with no issue when i sold da car. only thing i did was keep a nice charge, check battery fluid level. even da GE's battery was 'non-maintenance' type but still added water and it easily lasted over 6yrs.

Old 04-28-2017, 09:15 PM
5 Year Member
Looks like it's too late for me now. Since the indicator for needing charge doesn't go away, i must have permanently done something. Though it is weird -- I don't recall every having any hesitation in starting. No signs whatsoever of a problematic charge.

Old 05-01-2017, 08:29 PM
5 Year Member
Hooray! After this 2nd weekend of high-rev extended-duration driving, the battery is now back to the healthy indicator colours of a red dot encircled by blue.

Old 05-04-2017, 12:12 AM
5 Year Member