General Fit Talk General Discussion on the Honda Fit/Jazz.

Apple Maps voice navigation & 2013 Honda Fit: Lightning, USB, audio jack?

Old 08-26-2017, 05:49 PM
5 Year Member
Apple Maps voice navigation & 2013 Honda Fit: Lightning, USB, audio jack?

I just bought an iPhone SE and would like to use it for voice navigation in my 2013 Honda Fit. The phone struggles to be loud enough to be heard at highway speeds, so I wanted to pipe the voice instructions through the car audio system. At the moment, I'm hesitant to use Bluetooth (BT), which I've never used before, because of the security concerns that I've read about. But I'm wondering, if I only activate BT on the iPhone when driving, does that reduce the risk? Any way of describing how much the risk is reduced? My plan was to leave BT enabled on the car (assuming that I can do that) and selectively enable BT on the phone when driving. Does the fact that it is left enabled on the car introduce zero additional risk due to the fact that the car is typically turned off when not in use?

Now assume that I go with my current plan, which is to find the best way to make it work without BT. If I connect to the phone's Lightning port to the car's USB port (which I've read about in the manual thus far), does that connection allow me to pipe the voice instructions into the car audio?

As an alternative, I read that you can pipe the voice commands through the audio jack. Would the car be smart enough to mute out any prevailing music (e.g., from the radio) during voice instructions?

Finally, do any of the answers change if I were to use a non-native navigation map, like Google Maps (or any of the handful that are lauded onine)?

Thanks.

Old 08-26-2017, 10:58 PM
5 Year Member
Oops. Scratch the bit about USB. Mine's is only the 2013 LX, which doesn't have it.

Old 08-27-2017, 11:53 AM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member