2nd Gen GE8 Specific Fit Exterior Modifications & JDM Styling Sub-Forum Threads discussing exterior modifications and JDM styling for the 2nd Gen GE8 Honda Fit

Touch Up Paint help for 2013 Fit

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2014, 10:22 AM
Question Touch Up Paint help for 2013 Fit

Hi all,
I've been riding around in my Blue Raspberry 2013 fit for about 7 months now and I'm pretty happy. My first paint scratch has happened and it isn't huge but it is bothering me and I'm trying to figure out the best way to fix it.

I saw this on Amazon:
Amazon.com: Genuine OEM Honda Blue Raspberry Metallic Touch-Up Paint (Color Code BG59M): Automotive Amazon.com: Genuine OEM Honda Blue Raspberry Metallic Touch-Up Paint (Color Code BG59M): Automotive

and also this (which is paint + clearcoat):
Amazon.com: ColorRite 2Tip Honda Fit Automotive Touch-up Paint - Blue Raspberry Metallic Clearcoat BG-59M - Color-and-Clearcoat Package: Automotive Amazon.com: ColorRite 2Tip Honda Fit Automotive Touch-up Paint - Blue Raspberry Metallic Clearcoat BG-59M - Color-and-Clearcoat Package: Automotive

I also saw a few other products when I googled the paint chip problem:
Select product. - Dr. ColorChip: Automotive Paint Chip Repair Systems

Do I need clear coat? Would another product work? Thankfully it's not a huge nick but now that I know it's there it's bothering the heck out of me.

I appreciate the help! =)
Dawn

Old 06-06-2014, 01:49 PM
I just use the OEM touch up paint. Apply light coats and let it dry inbetween to build up the paint, polish and wax after (you don't have to but I did). I didn't clear or anything.

I've heard good things about the Dr. ColorChip too but i've never used it.

Old 06-23-2014, 04:15 AM
5 Year Member