2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Problems with '09 Fit Sport

Old 11-27-2008, 02:35 PM
Problems with '09 Fit Sport

Hello, I'm new to this forum and my family was thinking about purchasing a new Fit. I have done some research into the car and overall I have heard nothing but praise for this car. I had some questions about the car.

I currently drive a 2001 Civic LX sedan 5spd and get above 33 MPG consistently so I am a tad worried about the 28MPG estimate for the FIT. I hear people getting mid 30's and 40's so I was wondering if many people here had the same results. We will be getting the sport auto (brother can't drive stick) and I am a conservative driver so I would think I could get it above 30, but I figured I would ask.

I also had a question about driving this car on the highway. I prefer to drive quickly and usually drive at around 80 mph so I was wondering how stable or confident you feel driving the car at such speeds.

My last question is what don't you like about the car. I don't mean ascetically, but it terms of something you think was designed poorly or could be designed better.

Thank you very much!

Old 11-27-2008, 03:09 PM
5 Year Member
The MPG varies greatly depending on how you drive....if you can get that kind of MPG out of your civic chances are you should be fine with the Fit, at least I think so.

As for driving on the highway, I've gotten to speeds up to close to 80 mpg, but I don't think I've pushed it past there...but from what I remember it was smooth and fine for my liking. I've heard that at higher speeds you'll notice more wind noise, especially around the side mirrors. But from my experience it doesn't bug me, especially if you've got some good tunes going in the background.

What don't I like about the car?
- still getting used to estimating the room in the front
- no stock foot/cupholder lights: the only light is the one in the middle of the cabin on the roof