2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new 2012 purchase advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2011, 09:30 AM
new 2012 purchase advice

This will be my 1st new car, trading in a 1999 Maxima twds it.

So far they quoted me at 16,100 for the base Gray m/t- which included the $500 package of:
nitro filled tires
mud guards
door edge guard
cargo mat
wheel locks

The more I read about the car, the more I think the Sport might be worth the extra 1k or so...

Are the seats in the Sport much nicer?
Could I put a stabilizer bar in the base?

I dont care much about the body work or fog lights, but the Sport stock rims look pretty nice... and I would prefer 16" over 15"... though i'm still learning how what the tire spec mean, ex: 195/xx/xx etc.

So any general or specific advice would be greatly appreciated!

And yes, I will def be on here often, even AFTER purchase

Thanks, and nice place ya'll have here!

Old 11-22-2011, 09:44 AM
5 Year Member
Hi
I would forget about those items they are charging you an extra $500 and get them online & install yourself. When I bought my Fit in 2010, there were more differences between the Base & Sport. Since the 2011 models there are fewer, ESP if you are buying a manual trans.
Seats are the same in both cars, may be different colors. The Sport comes with a driver's arm rest & base does not. If you end up getting a center console with armrest or an aftermarket such as the one sold by Zeta Products, you need to remove that arrest, so it isn't much of an extra. You can put a sway bar in th base.

Old 11-22-2011, 10:02 AM
(thanks Susan)

The salesman said the 500$ package comes on all the vehicles, but he seemed to be feeling me out for a reply at the time... the car hasnt arrived at the lot yet, so maybe I could tell him not to pin stripe it, etc.