2nd Generation (GE 08-13) 2nd Generation specific talk and questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car won't start- only 18 months old

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2012, 02:02 AM
Car won't start- only 18 months old

Hi! I'm a newbie on this forum and I found it because I just don't get it. 2010 Fit Sport (AT) has 22500 miles on it in 18 months, is always in a garage or underground car park. Yesterday it cranked slow on start-up (60 degrees in the garage) and today it wouldn't start

I have to wonder: are these cars battery vampires if you don't drive them every day? Sometimes it will sit for several days or a week between drives. I know some other cars (Porsche) have to have battery maintainers on them if they're not daily drivers, but I never would have expected the Fit to have that issue.

Anybody have any experience with this?

Thanks,

Jim

Old 09-29-2012, 03:21 AM
5 Year Member
First off I'd take it to the dealer and have them check out your car being that's it's still under warranty. Wouldn't even fuss with it. Was this the first time? Did you leave anything on?

Secondly, not an expert here, just driving and ownership experience. But based on your post, the car is not driven often and perhaps not even long enough. So relative to your battery, the charging system is not on long enough to completely charge your battery with every use. Take it in anyway. Just my take...

BTW, welcome aboard!

Old 09-29-2012, 08:15 AM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
Depends how much you drive each time. If only short distance the car will not charge. Do it over and over and battery will build memory and wont charge to full permanently.

Old 09-29-2012, 08:45 AM
my commute is around 18 miles each way, so I would have expected it to charge. I have a service appointment Monday morning at the dealer, but I was just trying to get a sense of this 'drive it or it's dead' thing. my last car before the Fit was a 90's car you could park for a month with no issues.