3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

HELP- Extended Warranty Question

Old 05-10-2015, 08:24 PM
HELP- Extended Warranty Question

I purchased a new Honda Fit Ex last night and ended up with the mechanic repair service platinum extended warranty covering bumper to bumper for 72 months/ 100,000 miles. This ended up costing an additional $1919. I think I way overpaid. I haven't received the car yet and can cancel this extended warranty if I need to. Is this a completely unreasonably price for a warranty and should I have bought one in the first place? I was scared that I'd still be paying the five year loan if something bad happened after the 3 year warranty expired. I don't know what to do. I'm new at this. Thanks for any help.

Old 05-10-2015, 08:31 PM
5 Year Member
I would cancel it. Do you really think $2K worth of shit is going to happen to your electronics and suspension between 36K and 100K (and in between years 3 and 6)? If the car breaks down while you're paying the loan after the 3 year warranty, use some of that saved (and hopefully invested) $1919 to repair it.

*Edit: There's probably more that could go wrong than those two things i mentioned, but there's not many very expensive repairs you should be looking at under 150K miles minimum.

Old 05-10-2015, 09:41 PM
5 Year Member
Definitely cancel if you can. That is wayyy too expensive.

If its a HondaCare warranty, you can cancel it. If its a 3rd party warranty, you'll have to read the fine print, but its most likely cancelable as well.

Keep in mind, the new car factory warranty for your car is 3 years/36k miles which covers the entire car except wear and tear, but the engine and transmission are covered for 5 years/60k miles. So you are pretty well covered.

If you do want an extended warranty, buy one in a couple years. It was actually be cheaper and more economical.

Old 05-11-2015, 03:27 PM