3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Annoying Warranty Offers

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2016, 10:23 AM
5 Year Member
Annoying Warranty Offers

In yesterday's mail (Saturday) I received an envelope that appeared to have a Honda logo in the upper left corner. I opened and found a very official looking form detailing 3 levels of Warranty. This was slightly different from similar extensions from the past.

I have been receiving them since July 2015, 2 months after I bought the EX!!

Now I'm an old guy (less than a month from 76) and I don't drive much and I'm much more likely to run out the factory warranty in years than miles.

Dude at the other end said that the Fit had x number of computers built in and that the cheapest one to replace costs $2,600! Yeah, sure, right. I could buy one heck of a laptop for that! BTW, it wasn't Honda, but some "independent" service that "supports" many brands.

Although I told him, more or less politely, where he could put that offer.

Old 10-23-2016, 10:35 AM
5 Year Member
And when your factory warranty expires in 36 Months, the aftermarket warranty crowd will begin anew with a new round of annoying phone calls. They somehow have my wife's work phone too. I guess that Dealers will sell their contact information to anyone with money to offer.

Old 10-23-2016, 10:50 AM
Or they get the info from the DMV.

I've been repeatedly annoyed by New Rochelle Honda- they constantly sent letters that looked like recall notices, just to try to buy back my Fit and sell me a new one.

Which is why I didn't buy my new Fit there, even though they're the closest dealership.

Old 10-24-2016, 09:38 AM
5 Year Member
For $500 a year, I'll warrant your devices and mail against such annoying offers.

Oh Wait....just kidding. GRIN

+++++++++++++++++

Yeah, the DMV and the dealers often sell your contact info to others.