3rd Generation (2015+) Say hello to the newest member of the Fit family. 3rd Generation specific talk and questions here.

Fuel injector cleaner?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2018, 05:14 PM
5 Year Member
Fuel injector cleaner?

Dealership recommended injector cleaner due to mileage. Anyone have experience or know of a cleaner that works and doesn't hurt the engine (o2 sensor fouling)? Are all cleaners compatible with DI engines?

Thanks, noob here.

Old 01-09-2018, 07:10 PM
Official Fit Blogger of FitFreak
5 Year Member
dealers recommend many things.. especially if you dont look car savvy.

Old 01-09-2018, 11:50 PM
5 Year Member
I'm a little unclear.
Is the dealership recommending some type of "professional" fuel injector cleaning?

If your not experiencing any symptoms, rough idle etc...
Then I would be highly skeptical.

BUT..
If they are just recommending you buy and use a over the counter fuel injector additive? Then that's not much of an investment and there are many to choose.

Maybe twice a year, I run a treatment of Techron.

To be honest? I don't know if it helps too much. But even as a placebo? It doesn't cost much and I don't think it hurts.
If that's all they are recommending?
You can probably just go to your local Wally World and just choose one off the shelf.
Techron has a long track record.

Old 01-10-2018, 12:20 AM
5 Year Member
If you live in an area where you can still get 100% gasoline rather then E-10 (10% ethanol diluted gas) then maybe a bottle of fuel injector cleaner might be in order. If you are required to use E-10 or have been dumb enough to buy "top tier" which requires 10% ethanol then fuel injector cleaner is not needed.

That said, the cost is insignificant. Go buy and bottle at Wally World and throw it in a full tank of gas. If you have no poor running symptoms now, then you will never know if the cleaner did you any good. It definitely will not hurt anything doing it.

Old 01-10-2018, 01:13 AM
5 Year Member