Fit DIY: Repair & Maintenance Threads discussing repairs and maintenance you can do yourself

How to Change Automatic Transmission Fluid?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 01:48 AM
5 Year Member
How to Change Automatic Transmission Fluid?

Anyone have experience with this? It seems much more complicated than the manual change.

Old 02-03-2009, 01:52 AM
spoon fed
5 Year Member
with the automatic change you gotta watch the oil levels with the dip stick cause you can fill it too full. the manual there is a sideways fill port so you cant fill it up too much.

i have not changed the trans oil on an auto fit yet but im sure i will eventually.

Old 02-03-2009, 02:25 AM
5 Year Member
What about the flush process though? Anyone done this and willing to do a DIY on this topic? I am sure it would be very popular. Here is a site for mazda 3 ATX fluid change.

How to: Install Transmission Cooler & Flush 8 quarts of ATF.

I am guessing our process should be similar, though I am not experienced enough to do this change on my Honda Fit using a Mazda 3 DIY.

Old 02-03-2009, 03:17 AM
5 Year Member
do NOT flush the honda autotragic.

a honda "flush" is change the fluid, drive for 100 miles, change fluid, drive for 100 miles, and change fluid again

Old 02-03-2009, 01:01 PM
Originally Posted by solbrothers
do NOT flush the honda autotragic.

a honda "flush" is change the fluid, drive for 100 miles, change fluid, drive for 100 miles, and change fluid again
Correct & the Mazda example is apples to oranges. Honda slushboxes are unlike any other & thus you cannot compare to another mfg. My personal experience changing slushbox fluid is limited so if anyone out there has a service manual will you post if this is covered in the manual. If the Fit is like a typical Honda slushbox then it is pretty much drain & fill (usually around 3 quarts).