Unofficial Honda FIT Forums

Unofficial Honda FIT Forums (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/)
-   Fit Engine Modifications, Motor Swaps, ECU Tuning (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/fit-engine-modifications-motor-swaps-ecu-tuning/)
-   -   Quang's turbo build CHU!!! (https://www.fitfreak.net/forums/fit-engine-modifications-motor-swaps-ecu-tuning/36751-quangs-turbo-build-chu.html)

kylerwho 01-10-2009 08:59 PM

good luck using that little mig to weld your oil tank. it doesnt have an A/C setting so you cant run aluminum wire through it.

underdog 01-10-2009 09:25 PM

Originally Posted by kylerwho (Post 542430)
good luck using that little mig to weld your oil tank. it doesnt have an A/C setting so you cant run aluminum wire through it.

he's just going drill and tap the oil pan from my understanding.

kylerwho 01-10-2009 09:37 PM

that makes sense. im a welder so im picky about metal work.

koolkevin1107 01-10-2009 10:36 PM

Rep to u man! I love all ur DIY fab's, this one and the rear disc conversion u did a while ago. Continue updating all the time and show pix.

BTW i have the same welder you bought from harbor Freight. I LOVE it, use it all the time.

Oh btw i think he said he's going to use it for the charge pipes, not for the exhaust manifold and downpipe cuz it wouldn't hold up.

explosivpotato 01-10-2009 11:16 PM

I didn't even tap mine.. I drilled it to the size spec'd in my kit, put a threaded barbed fitting in with washers on both sides, tightened the F!CK out of it with some permanent loktite, and called it good. Hasn't leaked yet...

quangalang 01-11-2009 09:44 PM

yeah the welder i picked up is mainly for tacking things together for mock up. im going to have someone local to me tig weld the manifold and maybe the downpipe.
i have always felt iffy on bulk-head fittings so thats why im drilling and tapping.
ill be back to my house on tuesday so ill maybe have some work done to upate you guys.
later!

koolkevin1107 01-24-2009 02:48 AM