Fit Interior Modifications Discussion area for interior modifications including seats, steering wheels, upholstery and gauges

DIY: Fiberglass in-spare sub box (56k beware, tons of pics)

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2009, 06:09 PM
DIY: Fiberglass in-spare sub box (56k beware, tons of pics)

Inspired by this thread (thanks niko3257!), I decided to try to make my own in-spare sub box. I've never worked with fiberglass before this project, so I thought this DIY might be good for other newbies.

Supplies:
  • Spare tire (duh)
  • Aluminum foil
  • Tape (scotch tape or painter's tape works well)
  • Scissors
  • Fiberglass mat
  • Latex gloves
  • Fiberglass resin and hardener (this is in the paint section of Home Depot - I went for the cheap stuff but I'm sure there's more high quality resin elsewhere)
  • Disposable paint mixing cups and stirrers
  • Cheap disposable paint brushes
  • A 2'x2' square of 1/2" MDF (medium density fiberboard, you can find this in the lumber section of Home Depot)
  • Basic powertools: jigsaw, drill, angle grinder or some sort of sander, dremel might help
  • PAM (that stuff you spray on cooking surfaces so that the food doesn't stick)
  • Underliner spray (I found this at AutoZone, ranges $4-$8 per can)
  • Bondo putty (optional, see below)
  • Sub speaker (I'm using the Pioneer TS-SW2541D) - you'll need to make sure it's low profile and doesn't need much volume in the enclosure
  • Terminal - make sure it's sunken, such as this one
  • A grill to protect your sub (optional). I'm using this one, which tucks right into the rubber surrounding the sub; no hardware required!
  • A clean place to work; I spread out a big canvas on my garage floor
  • Mineral spirits in case you get resin on your skin, lots of paper towels
  • Soldering iron, solder
That should be enough to get you started; you'll obviously need to get an amp (I'm using the Sony XM-1S) and the appropriate wiring (I picked up this kit).